Sustainable Living

Writing for change


Week 22 of the living natural project takes a look at how we can make a difference through a simple letter.

It’s winter, I’m at the tail end of cold and feel the chill settling in. On the bright side, it’s a great time to drink lots of immune boosting kombucha and hot honey and lemon drinks. 

The cold made me pretty useless. So whilst I’ve been stuck on the couch I thought I could use this time to build on last weeks post and write a couple of letters (via email to save paper) to influence change in business and support sustainable living. 

The first letter was a request for change of a local business. 

Here’s what I wrote…..

Dear local independent grocery store 

I’ve been shopping at your local independent grocery store since I moved into the area a few years ago. I love the convenience, trading hours and friendly staff. I noticed your meat is packaged on polystyrene trays. As you might be aware, polystyrene in most council areas cannot be recycled curb side and is likely to end up in landfill. This is not a good outcome for the environment. There is also research that indicates polystyrene is not good for your health.

There are loads of ways your store could make the switch from polystyrene packaging. Can your store please lead the way to a more sustainable, plastic free or even package free solution to meat packaging. 

Thanks for reading this email. I hope it encourages you to make this change for the good of the environment and our health. 

Yours sincerely

The second letter was fan mail to show support for a sustainability website with some great ideas. 

Here’s what I wrote…..

Dear awesome website

I’m a big fan of your website and the work your doing to support peeps like me to make changes in our everyday lives to reduce or eliminate our impact on the environment. 

Your website is so easy to use and the tips really useful, practical and oh so do able. 

I’m currently looking at reusable sandwich wraps etc. Have you thought about including something like this on your website? I’d really like to learn more about this. 

Thanks for offering these tips free to the world. 

Yours sincerely

I hope this inspires others to put pen to paper or fingers to smart phone/device to influence, inspire or support change. 

2 thoughts on “Writing for change

Leave a Reply

