Sustainable Living

DIY Bread Bag


Week 26 of the living natural project takes a look at how to make a bread bag. 

I didn’t do plastic free July. I just knew I would not be successful. The last few months have been challenging. A family with constant colds, change of job, winter blues and generally low energy levels have all taken their toll.

Let’s get the violin out. 

When life gets like this it’s tempting to slip back into old habits. I didn’t, but it did get me thinking about how hard it is to buy things that aren’t wrapped in plastic. 

I’m talking about lettuce, finger buns, kids toys. At some shops you can either buy the product or forgo it. I confess to purchasing things like bread wrapped in plastic and thinking this was ok so long as I recycled the bag. 

With that said, I recently watched an episode of four corners about the recycling industry and the serious challenges it faces. It got me thinking about my reliance on recycling. I buy in bulk, hit the farmers markets, compost and loads more. I knew with a bit of a effort I could make some switches to avoid the use of one time only plastics bags.

My family eats 4 loaves of bread a week – me excluded. That’s 208 plastic bags a year!!!

So this week I’m doing something I’ve been really excited to doing for awhile and finally have capacity. 

I’m making a bread bag. 


You will need:

  • Loaf of bread
  • Large piece of paper (I used a scrap piece from the kids 
  • Pencil
  • Scissors 
  • Material (I used a piece from my material scrap box) 
  • Thread
  • Shoe lace (I washed an old pair before use)
  • Sewing machine or needle to sew by hand
  • Bobby pins

How to do it:

  1. Lay paper on flat bench and create a pattern. I went for a simple two piece pattern of sides and base. See my rough pattern in pic below. 
  2. Cut out material using the pattern. 
  3. Pin the side section together and a seam.
  4. Pin the base to the side section and sew together. This bit was a bit tricky and I didn’t execute this perfectly.
  5. Fold over a seam at the top of the bag to thread the shoe lace. Turn bag inside out and thread through the shoe lace.

It looks pretty darn good and the folks at the local bakery thought it was a great idea.

The bread needed to go in a airtight container to prevent it from drying out. 

And there you have it. An simple and easy bread bag.

Leave a Reply

