Sustainable Living

Jumping on the Bees Wax Wrap Band Waggon


Week 27 of the natural living project takes a look at a simple switch I made in the kitchen to wrap foods in a sustainable way.

So without further ado…. say hello to my new best friend in the kitchen. 

The bees wax wrap. 

One of my shiny sparkly besties gave me a pack of Wrappa reusable bees wax for my birthday. It was such a lovely and thoughtful gift and something I had wanted to introduce in the kitchen for a while. 

I tested it out on a block of cheese. And it worked! 


I tested it out on a bowl. It worked again! 

I tested it out on veg. Blow me down….it worked on that too! 

Turns out this reusable wrap is good for creating a good seal on loads of things like sandwiches, snack, fruit etc. Plus they look super cute. 

The Wrappa wraps are hand made from 100% cotton, local filtered bees wax, tree resign and jojoba oil from lil old rAdelaide. 

Their also really easy to clean. Simply wipe with a clean cloth, air dry, roll it up and pop it in the draw. 

I plan taking my bees wax wrap with me to the local cheese shop and get them to package my cheeses up straight into the wrap. 

And there you have it. A simple switch to reduce waste in the kitchen. 

2 thoughts on “Jumping on the Bees Wax Wrap Band Waggon

  1. That’s amazing! it isn’t really an innovation, as I know, at least in my area in Tuscany, housewives used cotton-made cloth to wrap cheeses and so forth. However, it seems a great breakthrough nowadays as we are surrounded by plastics! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Agree. Anyway to reduce our reliance on plastic is a step in the right direction. There is a lot we can learn from ‘how we used’ to do things and practices still used other cultures. Thanks you also for sharing what peeps do in Tuscany.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment